The Commonwealth of Kentucky, is located in the east south-central region of the United States. Kentucky is one of four U.S. states constituted as a commonwealth (the others being Virginia, Pennsylvania, and Massachusetts). Originally a part of Virginia, in 1792 Kentucky became the 15th state to join the Union. \ Kentucky became the fifteenth state to be admitted to the union on June 1, 1792. Isaac Shelby, a military veteran from Virginia, was elected the first Governor of the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

Kentucky borders seven states, from the Midwest and the Southeast. West Virginia lies to the east, Virginia to the southeast, Tennessee to the south, Missouri to the west, Illinois and Indiana to the northwest, and Ohio to the north and northeast. Only Missouri and Tennessee, both of which border eight states, touch more states.

Kentucky Counties

Franklin            Anne H Lee

Grant                     Beulah  Franks

Kentucky Resources

1812 War Troop lists for KY, TN and LA Volunteers/Militia


Cyndy Cox

Kentucky State Coordinator




Welcome to the Kentucky site!

Contact me if you are interested in adopting a Kentucky county.